waste not, want not.

I would say that I am a recycling Nazi. Ask my mother.

I have been recycling since before it was cool, when you had the smallest little beat up blue bin for all of your recycling. Nowadays, most communities have large colored cans for plastic, glass, and paper. It’s become hip to recycle, to not waste, to bring your own canvas or cloth bags to the store for a 10 cent discount.

If you live in Chicago, chances are that your building doesn’t have an option for recycling, so you must take it upon yourself to truck your recycling to the closest City recycling center, which leaves the trunk of your car smelling like whatever jar of salad dressing you washed out but is still linger– Herbes De Provence, I’m looking at you.

I saw an outcropping of articles posted on Earth Day last week, and I thought to myself, what else can I possibly do to make sure that I am part of the solution? I already recycle and shred everything. I already use a personal cup at Starbucks (additional 10 cent discount, woo!), I try to conserve electricity, heat, and water.

Then it hit me. I got this article slid across my desk at work.
http://www.wsj.com/articles/why-do-i-end-up-throwing-out-so-much-food-1429630602

Herein lies the solution! WHY DO I THROW OUT SO MUCH FOOD!?!?!

I often ask myself this question once a week. I’ve tried to get better at meal planning, to estimate correctly. Just because the salad bin that could feed me for 2 weeks is $5, can I eat that much lettuce in a week before it goes bad?

So my challenge to myself is to have a clean fridge every week. To get smarter about my shopping habits, to not just throw something perishable in the cart because it looks good, or I think I’ll eat it.  The throwaway society extends to our freezers and fridges. We can do better. I can do better.

I am going to be thinking of this more and more, and I’ll check in to let you know how I’m doing…and if there are any fridge clean-out recipes recipes worth sharing.

live every day like it’s earth day,

xx

Leave a Reply

