how I’m managing my intentions

If you remember when I talked about what my intentions were for 2015, instead of making hard goals, I am using three words, based off of the principles of Danielle LaPorte’s The Desire Map.
My words: Strong. Expansive. Enlightened.

On that front, it’s been a great month to test out how all of these intentions make me feel. For expansive, I am trying new things at every chance I get-which recently includes joining an intramural soccer league. I haven’t played soccer since I was about 9, so this was definitely something that I kind of looked at with a little bit of fear.

Yesterday was our first league game and I went not knowing a soul. We tied our match and I was absolutely beat! It was such a fun way to spend a Sunday afternoon. After I run the DC Rock N’Roll Marathon in a little over a month, I am going to start signing up for exercise classes/activities that are fun. I love running, but I think allowing yourself to have a lot of fun in a group setting while you are exercising is key!

As far as Enlightened, I am trying to open myself up more to what’s going on around me in the world. My office gets a subscription to the Wall Street Journal, so after everyone has read it, I have been taking it over and really focusing on the sections that don’t normally catch my attention (ie: Money & Markets, Financial News, World News). I usually read the Personal Journal section or the Arena/Mansion.

And to bring back a goal from the summer that I had, I am going to start trying to immerse myself in French again. I am typically better at reading than conversating and I am hoping to be pushed out of my comfort zone a little bit. Stay tuned.

As far as the debt is concerned, my tax return is going my checking account and straight out!

What are you hoping to do this month with your intentions? Do you need a group to hold you accountable?

speaking and conversating are much weaker than my ability to read French, so I am hoping to be

Leave a Reply

