what i’ve been reading no.3

Well. I didn’t quite hit 50 books for 2014. I probably got to about 29.

But, it was a really fabulous way to get back into reading for pleasure. I’ve noticed that my mind feels more engaged, something that is really key as you leave school. You need to have something to engage your mind outside of work, especially something that is pleasurable.

A great addition to my social life has been the book club I joined in October. We’ve read a lot of books that I probably would give the once over to. To date, we’ve read The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society, For the Thrill of It, Me Talk Pretty One Day (Choice of Narrative or Autobiography), and then Promises to Keep.

imgMe Talk Pretty One Day1

Up this month, we are reading Unbroken-which is really quite fantastic! Then I have to choose what book we read for March! (Any suggestions?!)

What I’m reading now:
Unbroken, the story of Louis Zamperini as told by Laura Hillenbrand (author of Seabiscuit). 
The Eye of the World by Robert Jordan-which is really different for me because its a fantasy novel in a large large series.

What’s up next:
Next book in the Wheel of Time series by Robert Jordan
Hard Choices by Hillary Clinton
Some Jennifer Weiner novel I got at Village Discount Center for .50-if you are just browsing for some easy to read books, definitely be sure to check out your local thrift store! There are usually lots of fabulous books there (I’ve scored Things Fall Apart, Frozen, and Middlesex for $4 total, all hardcover books that would’ve cost $16 a piece!)

Anything you’d recommend? I’m also thinking about #GIRLBOSS coming up.

Leave a Reply

